Framing is such an important part of artwork. Since artwork itself is an investment, I recommend looking at the framing this way too. With that being said you can still frame something yourself being cost conscience…best rule of thumb is “less is more”. A simple frame with a white matte will do 9 times out of 10. When you are able though, go to a custom frame shop. Here is an example of a recent painting I sent to Framed on Crescent. Frank, the owner, is awesome & has tons of experience framing. As we talked about options, he suggested covering the matte in linen…all he had to say was “linen” & I was sold! After looking over his huge selection of frames I settled on this antique looking distressed frame. The frame is stunning & compliments my painting but doesn’t overpower it. The linen backing adds a simple & clean texture which I love. I have had several customers go to Frank asking for this look:). I say it was a success. Do you have any tips on framing? I’d love to hear…

20120508-081404.jpg

