Several years ago I baked and baked for my neighbor Christmas gifts. I guess I felt the need after that year to take a 3 year break! Consistency is not my strong suit;) But this year…I put my baking gloves back on. The first round of Plum Cakes were a disaster in my oven but delicious. I filled the miniature loaf pans too high and they overflowed in the bottom of my oven, so every few minutes I was scraping the excess with a grill spatula…smoke everywhere, oven fan on, front and back doors open…you get the picture…a hot mess (literally). I thought to myself…”& why did I think this was a good idea?”. Anyhoo, after cleaning my oven and several days of recovery from my mess I cooked the last of the Plum Cakes and Chocolate Chip Cakes. Sharing my disaster story b/c to just share a couple of pics of nicely made baked goods makes me feel fake;) I am not Betty Crocker although I do love to cook. Reality is my house is not clean, I have a coughing, clingy 3yr old and I’m just trying to make it through another day…maybe like some of you:).

Here are some pics of the cooking success…

20111219-020616.jpg

20111219-020642.jpg
I found I pack of 5 miniature loaf pans and a 2 pack of the miniature bundt pans. The plum cake recipe made 6 mini loafs and the chocolate chip cake recipe made 2 miniature bundt cakes.

Plum Cake
2 jars of baby food plums (I could only find apple/ plum jars..it worked)
2 cups of self rising flour
1 cup of oil
2 cups of sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves

Mix all, bake in a greased & floured bunt pan 350, 45 to 50 mins. Cooking time was 5 mins less for me with the mini pans.

Icing
I cup of powdered sugar mixed w/ juice of one lemon…drizzle over top of cake

Chocolate Chip Cake
1 cup of oil
1 box instant chocolate pudding mix
4 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 cup water
1 package butter flavored cake mix
1 8 oz. Carton sour cream
1 6oz. Milk chocolate chips

Mix all together & bake in greased but not floured bundt pan, 325 for 1 hour.

