First image, Beau Geste VI (1989)
Second image, America, La France Variation (1983)
Robert Motherwell is one of the pioneers of the Abstract Expressionistic movement in the 1950’s. He was part of the “New York School” of artists, along with Jackson Pollock, Mark Rothko, Willem de Kooning, and Philip Guston. In college I watched a film on Motherwell and other abstract painters of his time. (Motherwell had an apprentice that assisted him in his studio…way cool.). Watching the film gave me a feeling of excitement as the “action painters” did their thing. I wanted to be one of them…and of course pretend that I lived in New York in the 50’s. The excitement and controversy of a new movement in art is so intriguing to me. It forever changed art as we know it today and to them I am grateful.

